Enrollment Requirements, Prerequisites & Overrides

Many courses carry prerequisites and other enrollment requirements (for example, “instructor approval,” “enrollment limited to majors,” “seniors only,” or “honor students”, etc.). These requirements are listed with each course in Course Explorer and Student Self-Service registration details so please read that information carefully to best understand the restrictions on each section of a course and possible plans for release of seats.

You are expected to comply with these prerequisites and enrollment requirements. Failure to do so may result in you being removed from the course. Restrictions are system controlled.  Only the teaching department of the course can approve an override of a registration restriction.  Refer to the Override Contact table below to find the best way to request a registration override for a specific subject.  If the department office grants you override permission and enters that override on your student record, you will be able to register for the approved course/section via Student Self-Service.

You can search for subjects by entering the subject code or department description.

SUBJECTDEPARTMENTCONTACT
AASAsian American StudiesChristine Lyke
217-333-3736
clyke@illinois.edu
ABEAgricultural and Biological EngineeringHeather Crump
hcrump@illinois.edu
ACCYAccountancyMerrill Huang
accy@illinois.edu
ACEAgricultural and Consumer EconomicsKrystle Simmons
klsimmns@illinois.edu
ACESAgricultural, Consumer, and Environmental Sciencesaces-academics@illinois.edu
ADVAdvertising217-244-4329
media-ssc@illinois.edu
AEAerospace EngineeringLaura Gerhold
gerhold@illinois.edu
AFASAir Force Aerospace StudiesJan Hill
217-333-1927
pvhill@illinois.edu
AFROAfrican American StudiesDesirée McMillion
217-333-7781
dymc@illinois.edu
AFSTCenter for African StudiesTerri Gitler
217-265-5016
tgitler@illinois.edu
AGCMAgricultural CommunicationsGail Pring
gpring@illinois.edu
AGEDAgricultural EducationGail Pring
gpring@illinois.edu
AHSApplied Health Sciences CoursesRachael Sanders
217-333-2130
rsander@illinois.edu
AISAmerican Indian StudiesJohn McKinn
mckinn@illinois.edu
ALECAgricultural Leadership, Education, and Communications ProgramGail Pring
gpring@illinois.edu
ANSCAnimal Sciencesanscadvising@illinois.edu
https://ansc.illinois.edu/about/contact-us
ANTHAnthropologyMaritza Quinones-Rivera
quinonem@illinois.edu
After instructor has given permission
ARABArabicDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
ARCHArchitectureRhonda Frank
217-333-7720
rfrank@illinois.edu
LaTanya Cobb
217-333-7720
lcobb@illinois.edu
ARTArthttps://forms.illinois.edu/sec/8053810
ARTDArt--Designhttps://forms.illinois.edu/sec/8053810
ARTEArt--Educationhttps://forms.illinois.edu/sec/8053810
ARTFArt--Foundationhttps://forms.illinois.edu/sec/8053810
ARTHArt--Historyhttps://forms.illinois.edu/sec/8053810
ARTJArt--Japan Househttps://forms.illinois.edu/sec/8053810
ARTSArt--Studiohttps://forms.illinois.edu/sec/8053810
ASRMActuarial Science and Risk Managementasrm-advising@illinois.edu
ASSTAsian StudiesJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
ASTRAstronomyRebecca Bare
217-333-3090
astronomy@illinois.edu
After instructor has given permission
ATMSAtmospheric SciencesGraduate: Tammy Warf
217-333-5843
warf@illinois.edu
Undergraduate: Jessie Choate
choate2@illinois.edu
BADMBusiness Administrationba-undergrad@business.illinois.edu
BASQBasqueKatie Walker
217-300-2932
kew@illinois.edu
BCOGBrain and Cognitive Sciencepsych-advising@illinois.edu
Course Explorer restrictions will be enforced
BCSBosnian-Croatian-SerbianJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
BDIBusiness Data and InnovationMerrill Huang
accy@illinois.edu
BIOCBiochemistryAlejandra Stenger
astenger@illinois.edu
BIOEBioengineeringbioe-ugradprograms@illinois.edu
BIOLBiologysib@life.illinois.edu
BIOPBiophysicsAlejandra Stenger
astenger@illinois.edu
BTWBusiness and Technical WritingAndrea Dodd-Wronke
217-300-5918
pro-writing@illinois.edu
BULGBulgarianJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
BUSBusiness Administrationba-undergrad@business.illinois.edu
CATLCatalanKatie Walker
217-300-2932
kew@illinois.edu
CBComparative BiosciencesRegina Duncan
217-265-0964
rcook@illlinois.edu
cbgradprogram@vetmed.illinois.edu
CDBCell and Developmental BiologyAlejandra Stenger
astenger@illinois.edu
CEECivil and Environmental EngineeringGreg Coughli
gcoughli@illinois.edu
https://advising.grainger.illinois.edu/course-registration/prerequisite-enforcement
https://advising.grainger.illinois.edu/course-registration/overload-underload
CHBEChemical and Biomolecular EngineeringChristy Bowser
217-244-9214
cbowser@illinois.edu
chbe.illinois.edu
CHEMChemistryHeather Schulze
217-333-5071
schulze@illinois.edu
CHINChineseJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
CHLHCommunity HealthStaci Baxley
217-333-2307
slsears@illinois.edu
https://ahs.illinois.edu/community-health/
CHPCampus Honors Program CoursesAnne Price
aeprice@illinois.edu
CICurriculum and Instructiongradservices@education.illinois.edu
CLCVClassical CivilizationRyan Snyder
rksnyder@illinois.edu
CMNCommunication217-333-2683
communication@illinois.edu
CPSCCrop SciencesUndergraduates: Erika Olivaries
emoliva@illinois.edu
Graduates: Christina Pierce
cptomlin@illinois.edu
CSComputer Sciencehttps://cs.illinois.edu/academics/undergraduate/registration/cs-course-restrictions-enrollment-caps
CSEComputational Science and Engineeringhttps://cs.illinois.edu/academics/undergraduate/registration/cs-course-restrictions-enrollment-caps
CWCreative Writing217-333-4346
englishadvising@illinois.edu
CWLComparative and World LiteratureWendy Wimmer
wwimmer@illinois.edu
CZCHCzechJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
DANCDanceAnna Sapozhnikov
sapozhni@illinois.edu
DTXHuman-Centered Design and Design Thinkingdesigncenter@illinois.edu
EALCEast Asian Language and CultureJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
ECEElectrical and Computer EngineeringJamie Fradkin
jlsmit@illinois.edu
ECONEconomicshttps://economics.illinois.edu/academics/courses-registration/undergraduate-courses/restrictions-overrides/fall-details
EDPREducational PracticeBrenda Clevenger Evans
217-333-2804
bmclvngr@illinois.edu
EDUCEducation Administrationgradservices@education.illinois.edu
EILEnglish as an International LanguageDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
ENGEngineering 217-333-2280
engineering@illinois.edu
Kimberly Anderson
217-333-1441
ksander@illinois.eduhttps://advising.grainger.illinois.edu/course-registration/prerequisite-enforcement
ENGHEngineering Honors217-333-2280
engineering@illinois.edu
Kimberly Anderson
217-333-1441
ksander@illinois.edu
ENGLEnglish217-333-4346
englishadvising@illinois.edu
ENSUEnvironmental SustainabilityLana Holben
holben@illinois.edu
ENTEntomologysib@life.illinois.edu
ENVSEnvironmental StudiesLana Holben
holben@illinois.edu
EOLEducational Policy, Organization and Leadershipgradservices@education.illinois.edu
EPOLEducational Policy, Organization and Leadershipgradservices@education.illinois.edu
EPSEducational Policy Studiesgradservices@education.illinois.edu
EPSYEducational Psychologygradservices@education.illinois.edu
ERAMEducation Research and Methodsgradservices@education.illinois.edu
ESEEarth, Society, and EnvironmentLana Holben
holben@illinois.edu
ESLEnglish as a Second LanguageDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
ETMAEngineering Technology and Management for Agricultural SystemsHeather Crump
hcrump@illinois.edu
EUROEuropean Union StudiesKim Fleming
kfleming@illinois.edu
FAAFine and Applied Arts Nicole Turner
nicturn@illinois.edu
FINFinanceJonathan Hall
finregistration@business.illinois.edu
FLTEForeign Language Teacher EducationMarcia Bellafiore
217-300-8331
FLTE@illinois.edu
FRFrenchJackie Dellamano
jmd23@illinois.edu
FSHNFood Science and Human NutritionBecca Snook
snook@illinois.edu
Contact instructor first for approval. Will not authorize without email approval from instructor.
GEOGGeography and Geographic Information Science (changing to GGIS in Fall 22)Miranda Combs
mbc3@illinois.edu
GEOLGeologyLana Holben
holben@illinois.edu
GERGermanJackie Dellamano
jmd23@illinois.edu
GGISGeography and Geographic Information Science (previously GEOG prior to Fall 22)Miranda Combs
mbc3@illinois.edu
GLBLGlobal StudiesChandré Johnson
217-333-0178
chandrej@illinois.edu
globalstudies@illinois.edu
GMCGermanic Languages and LiteratureJackie Dellamano
jmd23@illinois.edu
GRKClassics-GreekRyan Snyder
rksnyder@illinois.edu
GRKMClassics-Modern GreekRyan Snyder
rksnyder@illinois.edu
GSGeneral Studies Coursesgenstudies@illinois.edu
GSDGame Studies and DesignKatryna Starks
kmstarks@illinois.edu
GWSGender and Women's StudiesTasha Marie Robles
217-244-6732
tmatos@illinois.edu
gws-email@illinois.edu
HDESHuman Dimensions of Environmental SystemsSusan Helmink
217-265-0170
shelmink@illinois.edu
NRES Student Services
217-333-5824
nres-ssc@illinois.edu
HDFSHuman Development and Family StudiesLeann Topol
217-333-3869
ltopol@illinois.edu
HEBRHebrew, Modern and ClassicalLeslie Davison
217-244-5786
jewishculture@illinois.edu
https://jewishculture.illinois.edu/
HISTHistoryShannon Croft
217-244-2075
shannon9@illinois.edu
With instructor's approval
HNDIHindiDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
HORTHorticultureUndergraduates: Erika Olivaries
emoliva@illinois.edu
Graduates: Christina Pierce
cptomlin@illinois.edu
HRDHuman Resource Developmentgradservices@education.illinois.edu
HREHuman Resource Educationgradservices@education.illinois.edu
HTHealth TechnologyStaci Baxley
217-333-2307
slsears@illinois.edu
https://ahs.illinois.edu/ht-overview/
HUMHumanities CoursesJeanine Meyer
jamm@illinois.edu
IBSchool of Integrative BiologyJulie Fredenburg
julesf61@illinois.edu
IEIndustrial and Enterprise Systems EngineeringHeidi Craddock
ise-advisor@illinois.edu
Waitlist Information
Prerequisite Override Requests
IHLTInterdisciplinary Health SciencesJulie Jenkins
217-333-1083
jjenksns@illinois.edu
https://ahs.illinois.edu/interdisciplinary-health-sciences/
INFOInformaticsKarin Readel
217-244-1220
kereadel@illinois.edu
ISInformation Sciencesmslis-advising@illinois.edu for all 500 level courses
bsis-advising@illinois.edu for all 100, 200, and 300 level courses
mslis-advising@illinois.edu for all 400 level GRAD sections
bsis-advising@illinois.edu for all 400 UG sections
ITALItalianJackie Dellamano
jmd23@illinois.edu
JAPNJapaneseJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
JOURJournalism217-244-4329
media-ssc@illinois.edu
JSJewish StudiesLeslie Davison
217-244-5786
jewishculture@illinois.edu
https://jewishculture.illinois.edu/
KINKinesiology and Community HealthJulie Jenkins
217-333-1083
jjenkns@illinois.edu
https://ahs.illinois.edu/kinesiology/
KORKoreanJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
LALandscape ArchitectureMarti Gortner
217-333-0176
mgortner@illinois.edu
LASLiberal Arts and Sciences Lesley Butler
217-244-4787
lesleym@illinois.edu
Jeanine Meyer
jamm@illinois.edu
LASTLatin American and Caribbean StudiesKasia Szremski
szremski@illinois.edu
LATClassics-LatinRyan Snyder
rksnyder@illinois.edu
LAWLawKelly Salefski
salefski@illinois.edu
LCTLLess Commonly Taught LanguagesDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
LEADOrganizational and Community LeadershipGail Pring
gpring@illinois.edu
LERLabor and Employment RelationsBecky Barker
217-267-4074
ebarker@illinois.edu
LGLALingalaDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
LINGLinguisticsDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
LLSLatina/Latino Studies217-265-0370
lls-studies@illinois.edu
MACSMedia and Cinema Studies217-244-4329
media-ssc@illinois.edu
MATHMathematics217-244-7310
mathadvising@illinois.edu
https://math.illinois.edu/academics/undergraduate-program-mathematics
https://go.math.illinois.edu/registration
MBARegular MBA Program AdministrationDylan Thomas
dthom@illinois.edu
MCBMolecular and Cellular BiologyAlejandra Stenger
astenger@illinois.edu https://mcb.illinois.edu/academics/undergraduate-programs/course-restrictions-and-wait-lists
MDIAMedia217-244-4329
media-ssc@illinois.edu
MDVLMedieval StudiesLeslie Davison
ldp@illinois.edu
MEMechanical EngineeringRobbie Vermillion
rvermil2@illinois.edu
Tammy Smith
tssmith1@illinois.edu
mechse-ug-advise@illinois.edu
MFSTMetropolitan Food and Environmental Systemsaces-academics@illinois.edu
MICRMicrobiologyAlejandra Stenger
astenger@illinois.edu
MILSMilitary ScienceSharon Jackson
217-333-0633
shajax@illinois.edu
MIPMolecular and Integrative PhysiologyAlejandra Stenger
astenger@illinois.edu
MSEMaterials Science and EngineeringKimberly Anderson
217-333-1441
ksander@illinois.edu
MUSMusicJenny Phillips
217-244-8385
jhorn@illinois.edu
Course Override Form
MUSCMusic Lessons and EnsemblesJenny Phillips
217-244-8385
jhorn@illinois.edu
Course Override Form
MUSEMuseum StudiesMaritza Quinones-Rivera
quinonem@illinois.edu
After instructor has given permission
NENeural Engineeringbioe-ugradprograms@illinois.edu
NEURNeuroscienceStephanie Pregent
217-244-9838
spregent@illinois.edu
For NEUR 300-499, check cross-listed section for contact.
NPRENuclear, Plasma, and Radiological EngineeringBecky Meline
bmeline@illinois.edu
NRESNatural Resources and Environmental SciencesSusan Helmink
217-265-0170
shelmink@illinois.edu
NRES Student Services
217-333-5824
nres-ssc@illinois.edu
NSNaval ScienceKathryn DeWitt
dewit@illinois.edu
CDR Dave Stebbins
stebbidl@illinois.edu
Maj. Fabio Salas
fsalas@illinois.edu
NUTRNutritional SciencesAshley Negangard
217-333-4177
arnegan@illinois.edu
nutritionalsciences@illinois.edu
PATHPathobiologyKaren Nichols
klp68@illinois.edu
PBIOPlant Biologysib@life.illinois.edu
PERSPersianDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
PHILPhilosophyKathy Elston
kelston@illinois.edu
After instructor has given permission
PHYSPhysicsundergrad@physics.illinois.edu
PLPAPlant PathologyUndergraduates: Erika Olivaries
emoliva@illinois.edu
Graduates: Christina Pierce
cptomlin@illinois.edu
POLPolishJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
PORTPortugueseKatie Walker
217-300-2932
kew@illinois.edu
PSPolitical ScienceBrenda Stamm
stamm@illinois.edu
PSMProfessional Science Master's ProgramNatalie Bosecker
natalieb@illinois.edu
PSYCPsychologypsych-advising@illinois.edu
Course Explorer restrictions will be enforced
QUECQuechuaKasia Szremski
szremski@illinois.edu
REESRussian, East European, and Eurasian StudiesMaureen Marshall
memarsh@illinois.edu
REHBRehabilitation CounselingStaci Baxley
217-333-2307
slsears@illinois.edu
https://ahs.illinois.edu/community-health
RELReligionWendy Wimmer
wwimmer@illinois.edu
RHETRhetoric and CompositionAndrea Dodd-Wronke
217-300-5918
rhet_main@ad.illinois.edu
RMLGRomance LinguisticsKatie Walker
217-300-2932
kew@illinois.edu
https://spanport.illinois.edu/
RSTRecreation, Sport, and TourismDustin Janes
djanes3@illinois.edu
RUSSRussianJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
SAMESouth Asian and Middle Eastern StudiesTerri Gitler
tgitler@illinois.edu
SBCStrategic Brand Communication217-244-4329
media-ssc@illinois.edu
SCANScandinavianJackie Dellamano
jmd23@illinois.edu
SESystems Engineering and DesignHeidi Craddock
ise-advisor@illinois.edu
Waitlist Information
Prerequisite Override Requests
SHSSpeech and Hearing ScienceAndrea Paceley
shs@illinois.edu
https://ahs.illinois.edu/speech-&-hearing-science
SLAVSlavic Languages & LiteratureJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
SLCLLiteratures, Cultures, and LinguisticsJackie Dellamano
jmd23@illinois.edu
SNSKSanskritDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
SOCSociologyRebecca Riley
217-244-0410
rriley@illinois.edu
SOCWSocial WorkUndergraduate: Erin Cockrum
217-300-1149
cockrum@illinois.edu
Graduate: Cheryl Street
217-333-2261
street@illinois.edu
SPANSpanishKatie Walker
217-300-2932
kew@illinois.edu
SPEDSpecial Educationgradservices@education.illinois.edu
STATStatisticshttps://stat.illinois.edu/course-information-pages/registration-frequently-asked-questions-info
SWAHSwahiliDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
TAMTheoretical and Applied MechanicsRobbie Vermillion
rvermil2@illinois.edu
Tammy Smith
tssmith1@illinois.edu
mechse-ug-advise@illinois.edu
TETechnology EntrepreneurshipLaura Miller
arriola@illinois.edu
THEATheatreDavid Swinford
dswinfor@illinois.edu
Cathy Feely
clfeely@illinois.edu
TMGTTechnology and Management Coursesba-undergrad@business.illinois.edu
TRSTTranslation and Interpreting StudiesRyan Snyder
rksnyder@illinois.edu
TSMTechnical Systems ManagementHeather Crump
hcrump@illinois.edu
TURKTurkishDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
UKRUkrainianJazmine Summerville
217-244-6957
jazmines@illinois.edu
UPUrban and Regional PlanningJennifer Kowalski
jakowal@illinois.edu
Karen Cottrell
kcottre2@illinois.edu
VCMVeterinary Clinical MedicineKaren Stahl
kstahl@illinois.edu
VMVeterinary Medicine Coursesasa@vetmed.illinois.edu
WGGPWomen and Gender in Global PerspectivesCheryl Street
217-333-2261
street@illinois.edu
WLOFWolofDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu
WRITWriting Studieswow@illinois.edu
YDSHYiddishJackie Dellamano
jmd23@illinois.edu
ZULUZuluDee Ann Bates
217-300-5248
dee5@illinois.edu